Have you never made a DOOM map before??

I personally never or tried to make a DOOM map, I'm not good at measuring or stuff like that, it would probably be no good anyway.  I just play the maps that are already made for me :)

Posted (edited)

I wish I did! sometimes when I see the creativity and quality out there it really makes me wish I had the discipline and time to do the same and learn mapping!

Edited by JoeyKelastiof

You know, I thought the same thing, but I very recently decided to download Ultimate Doom Builder on a whim to see what garbage I could come up with. 

To my surprise though, making quality maps is actually very easy. UDB has a lot of nice features like that make mapping feel more like playing with legos than filling out a spreadsheet. My first map, while far from the best was received well despite some mistakes (which are now obvious in hindsight). This video also inspired me to an extent:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=c4-5d10dCyQ&pp=ygUJRG9vbSBtb2Rz

I've released three so far this year (and hopefully more) but I've made way more in the past for different games. Doom mapping seems to be the one I can easily feel confident in finishing an idea for but I do want to eventually get back to Quake and Half-Life mapping one day... or maybe I can just stick with Doom forever.

1 hour ago, vanilla_d00m said:

I personally never or tried to make a DOOM map, I'm not good at measuring or stuff like that, it would probably be no good anyway.  I just play the maps that are already made for me :)

You should try it, even if it's not necessarily to make a complete project or megawad, it's fun and easy enough to finish maps and with the abundance of resources you can get the jist of it pretty quickly, and this is coming from someone that rarely ever finishes anything.

Posted (edited)

Not really. I made two maps, but they were trivial. Even more trivial than in 5-minute speedmapping competitions.